Hostinger AI Builder: How to unpublish a website in manual mode

Hide a live Hostinger AI Builder manual mode website from public view.

Updated 3 days ago

Hostinger AI Builder manual mode websites don’t go live until you publish them, but unpublishing an already live website requires a different approach. Here are a few methods to hide your website from public view.

Option 1 – Publish the landing page only (recommended)

Create a landing page (e.g., “Coming soon”), make it the homepage, and hide the rest of your web pages you’re still working on.

For more detailed instructions, please refer here: How to create a landing page. Alternative, you can also check our guide for turning on the Coming Soon mode.

Option 2 – Change the domain

Change the domain connected to your website: replace your actual domain name with another one until you’re ready to publish your website on the actual domain again.

There’s no need to purchase an extra domain for this because you may use a subdomain. For instance, if your site is currently published on domain.com, you may change it to maintenance.domain.com, coming-soon.domain.com, in-progress.domain.com or similar.

To do so, follow these steps: How to Change a Domain,

Once you’re ready to publish the site on the actual domain name, use the same procedure.

Option 3 – Duplicate and delete the original

If you delete your published website, it will go offline. Only make sure to duplicate it before deleting:

  1. Duplicate your website

  2. Delete the original website

  3. Keep working on the duplicate

Your duplicated website will remain unpublished as long as you don’t click on Publish in the top-right of the builder.

Keep in mind that backups are created only when a website is published.