How to delete a website from a Hostinger hosting plan

Delete a website from your Hostinger hosting plan: back up files and emails, remove the website in Hostinger dashboard, and free up its domain.

Updated 4 days ago

Deleting a website from a Hostinger hosting plan permanently removes its files, databases, and configurations from your web, cloud, or Agency hosting plan. Delete a website to free up a slot for a new website, or to release its domain name for use on a different hosting plan or Hostinger account.

Before you start

  • Ensure your hosting plan is active to access and download any necessary data.
Backups for Hostinger AI Builder are not downloadable. These will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered once the website is removed.

Step 1 – Prepare backups

Before you remove your website, it is strongly advised to download backups. This action is irreversible, and all files, databases, and configurations will be lost.

  1. Download your website’s files and databases to your local device.

  2. (Optional) Backup your emails.

Once you have secured your data, proceed to the next step.

Step 2 – Delete the website

To remove the website from your hosting plan, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Websites section of Hostinger dashboard.
  2. Locate the website you want to remove and click on the options button (⋮).
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Review the confirmation dialog. Deleting a website permanently removes all files and databases.
  5. If you wish to remove the associated email service (Hostinger Mail or Titan Mail), check the Delete email service checkbox. If left unchecked, the email service remains active.
    Delete website confirmation dialog with unchecked options for data and email deletion
  6. Mark the first checkbox and optionally the second and click Delete.
  7. Wait up to 10 minutes for the deletion to complete. During this time, the website may still appear in Hostinger dashboard; reload the page to update the Websites list.

If you have a domain connected to the deleted website, it will stop displaying content and is now released and available to be used with a new website or project.